South Kingstown Public Library Teens

The Princetta–A Teen Book Review

on March 13, 2013

Ever wonder what others teens are reading? Here’s one of our latest reviews!
Check out a list of all the book reviewed by teens here.
Want to earn community service by writing book reviews? Check out the Teen Book Review Board here.

And now, on to the review….

princetta

The Princetta by Anne-Laure Bondoux

I would rate this book a one and a half, but only because I feel bad telling the author that their hard work only scores a one. If not for that this book would honestly only be worth only a one to me.

I decided I wanted to read this book because of the cover. It shows a picture of a girl that looks stunned or defiant (hard to tell which). Under her head is a pirate ship sailing past palm trees. After reading this book I realized that the saying “don’t judge a book by its cover” does apply in many situations. I should have never read this book just because of the cover. As I read the book I discovered that the cover was a really bad judge of the actual book. The book is literally depressing from the first page, to the last page. Also, the book seemed to be random stories and recollections slammed into one long, boring, depressing story. Not a pretty mental image and not a great book.

The book switches between two different points of view, Princess Malva’s, and Orpheus’. This switch between view points was very confusing for me. I have read many other books that similarly switch between narrators, but in The Princetta this transition between characters is just plain confusing. In the beginning of the book Orpheus and Malva live so completely unrelated lives that switching between their points of views is almost tiring. Also, nothing in the chapter title explains whose point of view that chapter will be from. You have to figure that out as you read. I didn’t like that at all.

As I mentioned previously the book was horribly depressing. I kept reading and reading hoping to reach that “happily-ever-after”. It never came. In several situations characters were killed off so abruptly that you couldn’t even really grasp what had happened until several pages later. Every time I thought things were looking up they took a turn for the worst. I have a tip for you, if you do decide to read the book just stop reading after page 406. I’m not going to tell you why, just trust me on this one. Unless you want to feel depressed for the rest of the day, do not read this book!!!

I totally could not relate to any of the characters. Almost every character in the book felt underdeveloped and 2 dimensional, meaning that the characters just seemed so similar, so bland. Not like the vibrant 3 dimensional characters that you find in other books. Like I said above, the book was really depressing, but after a few deaths it became almost a yawn. The characters were too shallow for you to really feel their pain.

In the end, I totally do not recommend this book to anyone. It is a waste of 430 pages of reading. Don’t waste your time go find another book to read.

~~Submitted by Jessica, Grade 9

Leave a Reply

