South Kingstown Public Library Teens

Sisters of the Sword

sisters
Sisters of the Sword by Maya Snow

What a great start to a new series! Sisters Kimi and Hana want nothing more to become Samurai warriors…something quite impossible in 1216 in feudal Japan. Lucky for them, their father, the Jito, or ruler of the province, teaches them basic fighting techniques, believing that women should be able to defend themselves in case of an attack. However, their training is brief, for girls (especially daughters of the Jitoare meant to practice tea ceremonies and calligraphy, not fighting with swords and daggers.

The girls’ world is forever changed though when their uncle commits the horrifying and treacherous act of slaughtering their father and two older brothers, forcing the girls to flee for their lives. Not knowing if their mother and younger brother escaped, they disguise themselves as peasant boys in order to take shelter at a dojo. Run by Master Goku, it is no only the same dojo where their older brothers had trained to become samurais, but where their cousin Ken-ichi is currently studying.

Will the girls be able to keep the secret of who they really are and avenge their father’s death? Or will Ken-ichi’s father track them down?

Perfect for middle school readers, Sisters of the Sword is just the first in the series, be sure to look for Chasing the Secret and Journey Through Fire

Leave a comment »

Zach’s Lie

Zach's Lie

Zach’s Lie by Roland Smith

Jack Osbourne has always lived a normal, suburban life with his parents and sister. Until the night he is woken up in the middle of the night by men who threaten to kill him, his mother and his sister if they don’t do exactly what they say. That was the night that changed everything. The night his father was arrested for drug trafficking, forcing he, his mother and sister into the Witness Protection Program. The night he became Zach Granger.

The Grangers live in a tiny town in Nevada’s Ruby Mountain, where everyone knows everything about everybody. Zach and his sister “Wanda” have made new friends, and their mother is on her way to opening a bookstore right in the center of town. Things are finally starting to look up. Will Zach’s family be safe here in their new haven, or is it just a matter of time before the danger from their past catches up to them?

Zach’s Lie is a great suspense thriller, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series; I can’t wait to read the sequel, Jack’s Run.

Leave a comment »

The Fetch

The Fetch

The Fetch by Laura Whitcomb

Calder is a Fetch, an otherworldly escort who appears to people on death’s door. If a soul decides that it is ready to die, it is his job to use his key to open a door, through which lays the path to heaven. In general the living can not see him, and he is not to interfere with the soul’s decision. He knows that someday, he must choose a squire, a dying soul to whom he will offer his key, acceptance of which will apprentice them into a “life” as a Fetch. It has been over 400 years though, and Calder has yet to find the right soul. Until he sees her. A beautiful young woman, weeping for the dying soul of a baby boy. A woman that he is certain can sense his presence.

His overwhelming desire to meet this woman leads Calder to do the unthinkable. He convinces a dying soul to let him use his body, an action that creates havoc between the delicate balance of the real world and the afterlife. What Calder doesn’t realize is that the woman who fascinates him is Alexandra Romanov, the Empress of Russia, and that body he has taken belongs to Grigori Rasputin. What follows is a spiritual and epic story set in the midst of the Russian Revolution, where worlds dangerously begin to collide and overlap.

Overall, despite being a little slow in spots, I really enjoyed this book. I would definitely recommend this to teens who like the otherworldly books, but are looking for something with a little more depth.

Leave a comment »

Teen Summer Reading Program

School’s almost out, and that means….

It’s time for the Teen Summer Reading Program.

There will be prizes each week for all who participate by reading 30 minutes per day, as well as drawings for grand prize-winners each week. The weekly incentive prizes have been generously donated by local and statewide sponsors and are especially geared toward teens and preteens. Open to students entering grades 7 and up, the program will run through August 9th.

In addition to weekly prizes, we will also be holding weekly teen events at the Peace Dale Library. Space is limited, so be sure to stop in or call the library at 789-1555 to register!

Wednesday, July 1st, 2:30 p.m.
Keith Munslow Improv Workshop

This workshop is all about making it up on the spot! Using a mix of theatrical warm ups and comedy improv games (like the kind you see on “Whose Line Is It Anyway?”) we will dive into the fast-paced world of improvisation. This exciting group program teaches teamwork, give/take and creative problem solving in a fun, safe environment.

Thursday, July 2nd, 4-4:45 p.m.
7-9th Grade Book Group

Students in grades 7-9 will be meeting to discuss Gothic! Ten Original Dark Tales. Copies of the book will be available in advance at the Peace Dale Library. Snacks will be served, no registration is required. New members always welcome.

Teen Artist Café Series at the Peace Dale Library

Students entering grades 7 and up are invited to create different things each week at the Summer Reading Express Yourself Teen Artist Café. Come to one or come to them all! Space is limited; call the library at 789-1555 for more information or to register for these events.

  • Wednesday, July 8th, 2-3:30p.m. Altered Books
  • Wednesday, July 15th, 2-3:30 p.m. Tie Dye
  • Wednesday, July 22nd, 2-3:30 p.m. Magnetic Poetry Sets
  • Wednesday, July 29th 2-3 p.m. Friendship Bracelets
  • Wednesday, August 5th, 2-4 p.m. Henna Tattoos
    (A PARENTAL PERMISSION FORM MUST BE SIGNED FOR A YOUTH TO TAKE PART IN THE PROGRAM AND REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED. FORMS ARE AVAILABLE AT THE LIBRARY).
Leave a comment »